Is there really 16 or only 15 spaces?

Hi,
I am new to Total Spaces and are currently trialling before I purchase.
I have moved from Snow Lepoard (with spaces) to Mavericks and only moved when I heard of you app.

My question is, are there really 16 spaces or only 15 - one appears to be reserved for the ‘dashboard’. This in reality upsets all my numbering.

Another question is; the space selection (moving to) only appears to work with the numbered keys above my qwerty keyboard - it does not seem to function with my number pad on my usb keyboard.

Does anyone have any answers to these questions?

Hi,

You can have 16 spaces. If you go to System Preferences -> Mission Control, and untick Show Dashboard as a space then the Dashboard will go away.

I’m not sure about your number key problem.

Are you using shortcuts set in TotalSpaces, or ones set in System Preferences->Keyboard preferences?

If you aren’t using ones set in TotalSpaces, then I recommend you try that - turn the ones off in System Preferences and click on the spaces shown in Layout prefs in TotalSpaces to set them there.

A rather more interesting question would be (at least for me):
Is it possible, without binary patching the Dock or (private) system frameworks, to have more than 16 spaces/virtual desktops?

For me, 64 or even 96 would be great (don’t ask for details why and yes, I know that this would require a more sophisticated visual management on screen).
But it seems, that CGSSetWorkspace( ), which is a private API call, somewhere in the ApplicationKit I think, doesn’t allow more than 16 spaces itself (perhaps due to a private table of spaces, which is limited to 16 entries). I would have to dig into my xcode project, to sort out these things again, but if I remember correctly, it just didn’t work.

Any ideas or facts on this subject?