Is This The End of TotalSpaces?

Hi all. I’ve been a paying customer of TotalSpaces for many years now, and my primary desktop is still running Big Sur on an Intel Mac because TotalSpaces3 isn’t even remotely ready to match it’s functionality. I’ve been ready to upgrade both hardware and o/s for a while now but feel that I can’t because of TotalSpaces.

Apple’s M1 transition was started in 2020 and there hasn’t been much activity from the TotalSpaces developers since 2018. The situation that I understand is the project is no longer a priority and nobody has been found to take the reigns, either commercially or open source.

I’ve been coming back to these forums every week for the last three years hoping for some exciting news, but there’s been nothing. There is an alpha version for both Intel and Apple Silicon that somewhat functions today but will it function after the next macOS update? Total unknown.

Is this the end? Should I finally bite the bullet and give up the idea that a TotalSpaces revival might one day happen?

Thanks everyone.

Yes.

It sucks. I am using the alpha on M2 and it’s not great. It’s sluggish and weird. But it is what it is.
In my opinion, if the code was released and made public, at some point someone would take interest in the project and make updates. But the developer disagrees with that assessment. He wants someone to take ownership over it first. Which in my opinion is bollocks, because no one knows how this thing works and anyone who can probably understand it doesn’t want to become responsible for something they have never touched before.

So, unless you can change his mind about publishing the codebase, we are stuck with the old alphas and this project will die a slow death.