Using recovery mode to disable SIP, BUT restart & shutdown commands don't work

I’m a veteran user of TotalSpaces 2 & have disabled SIP many times with terminal to allow TotalSpaces to work under Catalina. But after replacing my internal SSD with a larger one, I find I can no longer disable SIP. Actually I can enter the command & get a response, BUT the restart and shutdown commands don’t work now. So the SIP change is not saved. Forcing a restart does so without the saved command to disable. ??? help!

Running Catalina, do the following:

1. open a terminal window and type csrutil status. You should get a response of System Integrity Protection status: disabled.
  2. If it comes back as enabled, it’s time for the Restart, Command R movement once again. (I understand you’ve done this a number of times, but humor me please). Press and hold Command R when the screen goes totally dark. Don’t wait, just press them and show the machine who’s boss.
  3. When the Recovery window appears, select Utilities from the top bar (I know, I know, but someone else may have never done this before).
  4. When the drop-down menu appears, select Terminal.
  5. in the terminal window, type csrutil disable
    You should get a message that SIP is disabled. (that’s the hope anyway)
  6. In the terminal window, type reboot and theoretically the machine will reboot.
  7. After the machine reboots, log in, open a terminal window and type csrutil status.
  8. It should give you the SIP disabled message.
  9. Back through the shutdown/Command R routine once again.
  10. Recovery Window / Utilities / terminal.
  11. In the terminal window, type the following: csrutil enable --without debug —without fs
    that’s the entire command, those are double – and you can do it all on one line.
  12. You’ll get the stern warning that you’re using a non-standard SIP configuration. Tell the machine “so what!” and type reboot in the terminal window.